…Or Left

I love disagreeing with my English class just for the sake of disagreeing (and irritating them). It is so much fun.

 Prompt: Do you think it is hypocritical that Whitman, a man who so clearly valued every human life, was a supporter of military action to abolish slavery?

Of course every single person in my class responding on the discussion board said a defiant ‘no’ and rambled a bit about the evils of slavery. Me being the little devils advocate I am, wrote the following:

 To support a draft coercing men into fighting for a cause they do not believe in, is to support an abridgement of man’s right to dissent. To place the rights of an entire nation of slaves above the right of one man to chose his own fate is to play a game of numbers. If sacrificing the right of one man for the rights of thousands is acceptable, is it acceptable to sacrifice the right of one for hundreds? One man’s rights for another’s? How many people do you have to save to sacrifice one unwilling man?

If you do not support the draft in your own union, how can you support the destruction of innocents in the confederacy? Is the life of one killed innocent worth less than the lives of a hundred thousand slaves? How about one slave? Where can you draw a line of when it becomes acceptable to sacrifice one right for another?

The answer is simple. You cannot draw a line, dividing sacrificable and invaluable while at the same time supposedly valuing every human life equally.

I thought it was a nice bit of argument. I kind of even convinced myself, given I had no opinion on the issue previously. Now thats cool.

Now because its… holiday spirit? *cough* and because I accidently got tagged and because I just feel like it k? you get this.

1. Wrapping paper or gift bags? Wrapping paper. I am a beast at wrapping gifts. Mostly its because I tend to be an uber perfectionist and make sure that every side is exactly equal and the bows and ribbon match the paper and that there aren’t too many gifts of the same color under the tree at the same time… you get the picture.

2. Tree–Real or Artificial? I wish wish wish real, but unfortunately my family insists on going with artificial every year because we are all slightly allergic to real ones. Frankly, I could stand a few sniffles for the sake of having a wonderful real tree.

3. When do you put Christmas tree up? Generally the weekend after the weekend after Thanksgiving, unless we don’t go to Pittsburgh for turkey day like always. It was so sad: this year I had to put up and decorate the tree all by myself because every one else in the family was either “too busy” or “didn’t feel like it”. Thank goodness for Licorice (dog). I really appreciated her input.

4. When do you take the tree down? Whenever we get around to it, but usually not until after New Years at least. I always feel sad when we take it down so I tend to procrastinate.

5. Like egg nog? Never tried it

6. Do you have a nativity scene? But of course. As a lovely Christian family we are obligated to. Really, I couldn’t care less because I am a crappy religious person, but I like the tradition. And because when I was little, setting it up reminded me of playing doll house. With really special characters.

7. Favorite gift received as a child? I’m going to have to go with that uber cool science kit I got one year. I made a radio! It was like omg, I am so amazing at science. Except not really, I just like making my own motion sensor buzzers. *geek forever and always*

8. Hardest person to buy for? Everyone is hard to buy for, for the most part. I’m a terrible gift idea thinker-upper and as a bonus I’m kind of cheap. Oops. Ah well.

9. Easiest person to buy for? Licorice. Yay chew toys!

10. Worst Christmas gift? The one year I was in my punk-rocker/almost-goth-but-not phase, I got a gift certificate to abercrombie and fitch, and I was like *major eye-roll*. Whee slutty tanktops.

11. Mail or email a Christmas Card? Mail of course! e-cards are only for random little events to quickly brighten someone’s day, not for serious letter writing. Plus how would we complete our wall of Christmas cards?

12. Favorite Christmas movie? I’m really not one for the cheesy sappy “It’s a Wonderful Life” type things, so I’m going to have to go with Frosty. The bunny was my favorite ever!

13. When do you start shopping for Christmas? Technically this year I started in February. But that was an accident because it was supposed to be a birthday present for someone. But I lost it. Then last weekend I found it inside of a mitten… So then I decided it was a Christmas present! But for reals, I started last weekend

14. Have you ever recycled a Christmas present? Nopes. And no amusing anecdotes here either.

15. Favorite food to eat on Christmas? Chocolate Truffles. And Christmas cookies. The other stuff I can get any old time of the year.

16. Clear or colored tree lights? White lights. They just look so quaint and pretty! I saw that downtown near my house was completely decked out in white lights- every inch of tree was covered in them. And, I might add, the effect was amazing.

17. Favorite Christmas Song? Ring Christmas Bells. I just think it’s so pretty. And I happen to love the Nutcracker as well, even if its not a “christmas song”

18. Travel during Christmas or Stay home? We travel to Canada pretty much every year but come back shortly afterward.

19. Can you name Santa’s reindeer? Dasher, Dancer, Prancer, Vixen, Comet, Cupid, Donner, Blitzen. Oh yeah and Rudolph. And if you are evil 6th grade english teacher, Olive.

20. Angel or Star on Tree top? Star. Except my brother accidently broke the star for our tree a few years ago, and we have yet to replace it. So currently nothing.

21. Open presents on Christmas Eve or morning? The little kid in me still loves getting up and seeing what Santa brought, but it usually doesn’t work out that way with the traveling. My parents hate bringing gifts (/telling Santa we’re going to be in canada) so we generally celebrate on an evening a little before. This year we’re going with Saturday evening.

22. Most annoying thing about this time of year? The complainers. Especially the “Christmas is so commercialized” ones. You know what? I don’t care. I love my Christmas. Complete with gift-giving, holiday parties, cookies, silly Christmas commercials, pretty light colored houses, wrapping paper, crazy ornaments, and everything else. It’s amazing.

Leave a Reply

